Disabling Facebook AI Photo Scanning

Facebook is now using AI to scan every single photo and video within your phone.

I'm going to show you how to turn it off. This is terrifying.

Not only are they scanning those photos and videos,

but then they're uploading it to the cloud continuously.

It's operating continuously in the background,

scanning those photos to figure out the time of day, the location,

the other people in your photos,

that it can determine what it thinks you should post.

I just uploaded

a video about how to remove your data and data sharing in another video,

and then this is the fresh hell we wake up to.

Here's how you're going to turn it off. You're going into your account.

At the top left hand corner, there's going to be three lines.

You're going to click that. That's going to open your settings. Okay?

Then you're going to scroll down to settings and privacy,

and when that opens, you're going to click settings.

You are scrolling down until you see camera role sharing suggestions.

There's going to be a little camera icon next to it. Click that.

When it opens, turn that option off. We aren't done yet.

After that, you're going to go back over to your settings,

and you're going to scroll and look for device settings. Once you find that,

you're going to go into it, and it's going to ask you if you want to open the...

device settings within your phone. Say yes, you do.

You're gonna go in there, you're gonna turn off your microphone,

or you're gonna at least set it to ask every time so that it can't

just access it whenever it wants.

Same thing for location,

same thing for photos and videos, everything in there you have to

limit the access so that it cannot just go into your phone anytime.

I love you so much, please stay safe, drink your water, I'll talk to you later.

So Facebook and Instagram both launched this feature,

it's called Camera Roll Sharing Suggestions.

It uses AI to scan your photos and your videos, and they say it's designed

to suggest content for you to post based on time, location, people.

Apparently it's not enabled by default, it is a photo media permission,

so it will ask you if you need to opt in, and what it

does do is it scans all your photos and videos on device using AI models,

but Meta can upload and process that data on their cloud server,

so this is where the sketchiness comes in.

It's not secretly scanning because you do have to give it information.

by opting in but

it does constantly scan your stuff so private and sensitive videos

would be a concern.

Here's how you would turn it off in the app.

Here's how you would turn it off on your phone.

You can just go directly into your phone settings and set the permissions.

End of transcript · 494 words

iPhone app Translate videos on your iPhone Paste a TikTok, Instagram or X link, add subtitles in your language and save the video to Photos.

Read any video in your language

Paste a link from X, TikTok, YouTube or Instagram. You get a page like this one.

© 2026 TranslateMom Transcripts Sources Pricing Legal